HIGH SCHOOL BASEBALL: Class 1A and 2A teams have qualified for the state tournament

The Class 1A and 2A state baseball tournaments will again happen this year in Carroll at Merchants Park. In February, the Iowa High School Athletic Association announced that it had extended its arrangements with both Carroll officials and the Univesity of Iowa’s Duane Banks Field, which will host the Class 3A and 4A tournaments.

“The enthusiasm, hospitality, and support demonstrated by the Carroll and the Iowa City and Coralville communities for our state baseball tournament in 2021 were absolutely outstanding,” – IHSAA executive director Tom Keating said.

Principal Park in Des Moines hosted the IHSAA State Baseball Tournament from 2005 through 2020. Major League Baseball now manages the schedule for Minor League Baseball, and facilities for Iowa’s MiLB affiliates are currently unable to make multi-year arrangements for the IHSAA’s predetermined tournament week.

Teams who qualified last night.

Class 1A

North Linn



Newman Catholic

South Winneshiek


New London

Remsen St. Mary’s


Kuemper Catholic

Van Meter


Dike-New Hartford

Beckman Catholic

Estherville Lincoln Central

Interstate 35




Back to top button