NewsPolitics & Government

Ernst Joins Iowa Delegation Urging Biden to Grant Much-Needed Disaster Relief for December’s Severe Storms

U.S. Senator Joni Ernst (R-Iowa) is joining Senator Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) and the entire Iowa delegation—including Reps. Cindy Axne (IA-03), Randy Feenstra (IA-04), Ashley Hinson (IA-01) and Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02)—in urging President Joe Biden to promptly grant Governor Kim Reynolds’ request for federal disaster assistance in 25 Iowa counties.

These counties were among the hardest hit by the rare severe storms that rolled through Iowa last December, which produced an intense line of rapidly-moving severe thunderstorms. These thunderstorms brought hurricane-force wind gusts and resulted in 43 confirmed tornadoes—a new single day tornado record for Iowa.

“The Governor determined that this incident is of such severity and magnitude that effective response is beyond the capabilities of the State and affected local governments, and supplementary federal assistance is necessary to save lives and to protect property, public health and safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a disaster,” the lawmakers wrote.

Public Assistance was specifically requested for the following counties: Appanoose, Audubon, Buena Vista, Calhoun, Cass, Cherokee, Davis, Emmet, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hancock, Howard, Humboldt, Mills, Mitchell, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Sac, Van Buren, Webster, Worth and Wright.

Leave a Reply


Back to top button