Gov. Branstad requests Presidential Disaster Declaration from President Obama

Gov. Terry E. Branstad today signed a letter to be delivered to President Obama requesting a Presidential Disaster Declaration for nine Iowa counties where significant damage was sustained from damaging winds, hail, heavy rains and thunderstorms from June 3, 2014 – June 4, 2014. This request pertains to damages from the June 3 – 4 severe weather event and it is possible more requests will be made for additional counties adversely affected by subsequent severe weather.  In some areas of the State, flood waters have not yet fully subsided and full county-level damage assessments are still underway from recent severe weather.


Regarding the June 3 – 4 severe weather event, the letter reads, in part, “In response to the situation, I have issued a total of three State of Iowa Proclamations of Disaster Emergency.  The first was issued on June 3, 2014, directing the execution of the Iowa Emergency Response Plan in Pottawattamie County.  Succeeding proclamations have resulted in a total of 11 counties to be in a State of Disaster Emergency. These actions were taken pursuant to Iowa Code § 29C.6 and Section 401 of the Stafford Act.


“I determined that the severity of the damage in Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Harrison, Mills, Montgomery, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Taylor, and Wayne Counties is so great that Joint Federal, State, and local Public Assistance Preliminary Damage Assessments were required. On June 12, 2014, the State of Iowa first requested a Joint Federal, State, and local Public Assistance Preliminary Damage Assessment for ten of the most severely impacted counties.  These assessments commenced on June 18, and were concluded on June 21.


“As a result of these Joint assessments, I have determined that the severity of damages in nine counties is such that Federal Assistance is needed.”