Uncategorized articles

Tony Bisignano

Panel: Bisignano should stay on ballot

Panel: Bisignano should stay on ballot

A panel of state officials has concluded that former state lawmaker Tony Bisignano should be allowed to run for the Iowa Senate. Attorney General Tom Miller, Iowa Secretary of State Matt Schultz, and State Auditor Mary Mosiman considered a challenge by one of Bisignano’s primary opponents, Ned Chiodo, who claims Bisignano is disqualified from running

Apt Empty

Judge: Iowa City rental lease clauses are illegal

A judge says that numerous provisions commonly included in Iowa City apartment leases are illegal because they unfairly shift costs to tenants. Tuesday’s ruling by Judge Douglas Russell is a major victory for the Iowa City Tenants’ Project, which is bringing class-action lawsuits against landlords on behalf of thousands of current and former tenants. Russell

State Capitol

Iowa House OKs Bill to Address Human Trafficking

The Iowa House has unanimously voted in favor of a measure meant to crack down on human trafficking involving minors. The House approved the legislation 97-0 Wednesday. It now returns to the Senate for further consideration. The bill as approved removes training requirements and a victim support fund included in the Senate’s original version. It

Marquette Fire

Blaze Damages Buildings in Northeast Iowa Town

No injuries have been reported from a fire that damaged or destroyed three buildings in the northeast Iowa community of Marquette.   Firefighters from eight departments battled the blaze early Monday morning on North Street in downtown Marquette, which sits on the Mississippi River.   Marquette Fire Chief Dan Bickel says a man who lived

Grain 3

Weekly National Grain Market Review

Compared to last week, grain and soybean bids traded mixed.  All grains opened the week with losses after USDA’s WASDE Report had little for the market to be bullish about.  U.S. ending stocks for soybeans were lowered by only 5 million bushels to 145 mb.  USDA increased world ending stocks for corn from 157.30 mmt


Nebraska/Iowa Hay Summary

Week Ending Mar 14, 2014 NEBRASKA: Compared to last week, alfalfa hay, grass hay, cornstalk bales, and ground/delivered alfalfa and ground/delivered cornstalks steady. Dehy pellets steady. Light to moderate movement was noted most hay products. Prices are dollars per ton FOB (freight on buyer) stack in medium to large square bales and rounds, unless otherwise

Cattle 4

Saturday Morning Boxed Beef Price Report

Based on negotiated prices and volume of boxed beef cuts delivered within 0-21 days and on average industry cutting yields.  Values reflect U.S. dollars per 100 pounds. CHOICE         SELECT 600-900        600-900 ——————————————————————————– WEEKLY COMPOSITE PRIMAL VALUES Primal Rib                                     303.57         293.46 Primal Chuck                                   211.81         211.57 Primal Round                                   226.27         228.49 Primal Loin                                    290.80         282.73 Primal Brisket                                 169.81        

Haying 2

Saturday Morning Hay Price Report

South Central/North Central IA: Compared to last test all hay products sold steady on a light test. Alfalfa: Premium large squares 250.00 delivered.  Fair large squares 150.00. Alfalfa mix: Good large squares 200.00. Straw: Large squares 140.00 delivered, small squares 175.00 delivered. ======================================================================= Table 1: Alfalfa guidelines  (for domestic livestock use and not more than

Dennis Guth

State Senator Dennis Guth Talks About the Legislature

This has been an interesting week in the Iowa Senate. There has been an attitude of peaceful co-existence between the two parties in the Senate this session. That is, until Tuesday when two Senators engaged in a shouting match, both calling a point of order and narrowly avoiding coming to blows. The most interesting part