ISA Members Presented with Environmental Leader Award

Iowa soybean farmers were among those presented with the Environmental Leader Award at a ceremony during the Iowa State Fair.

Eighty-eight farmers and their families were recognized for their commitment to improving water quality and maintaining healthy soil. More than half of the farmers recognized are members of the Iowa Soybean Association (ISA).

“These farmers are leaders in their ideas and their practices,” said Roger Wolf, ISA Environmental Programs and Services Director. “Taking care of the natural resources on their farms will have a big impact on the future of farming.”

Producers who receive this honor have implemented conservation practices on their farms allowing them to improve and protect Iowa’s natural resources and the environment. They are also community leaders and promote their practices to other farmers. The awards are sponsored by the Iowa Governor’s office, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and the Iowa Department of Natural Resources. Former ISA director Jim Andrews was on the award selection committee.

All award winners received a signed certificate from Gov. Terry Branstad, a metal sign donated by Monsanto commemorating the honor and a commemorative program from The Nature Conservancy. After the ceremony Hagie Manufacturing, based in Clarion, hosted a catered lunch in honor of the winners.

“Congratulations to all the winners and thank you for your dedication to improving our natural resources,” Wolf said.

ISA’s Environmental Programs and Services and On-Farm Network teams assist members  to improve their natural resource management and implement environmentally sound cropping systems.

ISA member winners are (listed alphabetically by county):

Adair: Randy, Janalee and Merritt Caviness; Senivac, Inc.

Black Hawk: Blake Hollis; Lanchaven Farms, Inc.

Black Hawk: Nick & Nancy Meier

Buena Vista/Cherokee: Tracy and Donna Bengston

Buena Vista/Pocahontas County: Richard & Deboney Langner

Butler: Dennis and Merlette Cassmann

Carroll: Larry and Theresa Greving; Greving Family Farm

Clarke/Madison: Chad & Ryan Pontier; Pontier Farms

Clay: Chuck & Kevin White

Clayton/Allamakee: Rob & Mary Sass

Dallas: Douglas & Rhonda Volz

Davis: Ward Family, Steve & Sonya, Ryan & Brianna, Richard & Phyllis; Ward Farms

Des Moines/Henry: Brad Dodds; Dodds Family Farm

Dickinson: Scott Mitchell

Fremont: Kilpatrick Family Farms

Greene: Donald Gibson

Grundy: Harvin & Esther Meyer; Meydan Farms

Guthrie: Dennis & Jacque Hoover; Cripple Creek Farm Corporation

Hancock/Cerro Gordo: Wayne & Val Koehler

Henry: Jeff and Gayle Olson

Humboldt/Webster: Doug & Kim Adams

Ida: James B. Irwin

Jackson: Knake Farms, Inc.

Jasper: Gordon Wassenaar

Jasper/Marion: Ward Van Dyke

Kossuth/Humboldt: Alan & Andrew Laubenthal

Lucas: Mike & Nicke Hunter; Hunter Brothers, Inc.

Madison/Clarke/Warren: Tim Palmer Family Farm

Marion: Vernon and Eleanor Boot; LC Farms

Marion/Mahaska: Cliff, Sheryl & Scott Mulder; Mulder Farms

Mitchell: Mike & Gayle Heimer; Foothill Farms, Inc.

Mitchell: Dean A. & Lucinda A. Sponheim

Montgomery: Bill & Margaret Thomas

O’Brien: Bruce & Carol Rohwer

Palo Alto: Jim Stillman; Generations Farm

Sac: Lynn & Joy Smith, Seth & Loretta Smith

Story: Hermanson Family; Woodland Farms Inc.

Washington: Dennis D. Berger & Son, Inc.

Washington: Jim Cuddeback; Cuddeback Farms, Inc.

Washington: Joel and Laura Huber; Huber Crops and Chops, Inc.

Webster: AJ & Kellie Blair

Woodbury/Cherokee: Roger & John Wilcox; Wilcox Farms, Inc.

Wright: Jerry and Jan Blackman, Luella Brotherton; Brotherton Family Trust

Wright: Duncan & Lillian Campbell; Campbell Family Farms

Wright/Humboldt: Gary & Shannon Fisher, Jim Fisher, Annette Watts; F&F Farms Ltd.

Wright/Humboldt: Mattew J. & Oksana Siefker