Two Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

Two more Iowa counties have been added to a federal disaster declaration issued recently in response to severe weather. Governor Terry Branstad announced Tuesday that Crawford and Shelby counties have been added to the disaster declaration granted two weeks ago to 22 Iowa counties that experienced damage due to storms and flooding.

The governor requested the support from President Barack Obama after the counties were hit with storms, hail, tornadoes and heavy rain in June and July. The declaration means the counties will get federal funding to help with rebuilding efforts, such as repairing property, removing debris and other emergency work.