Grassley Supports Governor’s Request for Federal Disaster Assistance for Nine Iowa Counties

Sen. Chuck Grassley today asked the President to grant the request made by Governor Terry Branstad for a declaration of a major disaster in response to damaging winds, tornadoes, heavy rains, hail, and thunderstorms last month.


In a letter of request, Grassley wrote, “The Governor determined that this incident is of such severity and magnitude that effective response is beyond the capabilities of the State and affected local governments to handle effectively and federal assistance is needed.”


Severe weather on June 3-4 caused significant damage to public infrastructure and private property.  The Iowa counties with the most severe damage are Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Mills, Montgomery, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Taylor, and Wayne.  A presidential declaration of a major disaster is necessary to trigger the release of federal funds for assistance.