Braley Announces Osage High School Student is the 2014 Congressional Art Competition Runner Up

Rep. Bruce Braley (IA-01) today announced that Louise Castro De Jesus, a student at Osage High School, is the Iowa First Congressional District runner up of the annual Congressional Art Competition. The winner was Isabella Metcalf of Hempstead High.

“Every year I find myself impressed with the artwork submitted by young Iowans across the First District,” Braley said. “Isabella is a very talented artist and I congratulate her for winning this year’s competition. The hundreds of thousands of visitors to the U.S. Capitol Building this year are in for a treat.”

The Congressional Art Competition, first held in 1982, is a nationwide high school visual arts competition sponsored by the Congressional Institute each spring. One winning piece of artwork from each House district is selected to be displayed in the Cannon Tunnel of the US Capitol Building in Washington, D.C. for the following year.  In addition to having her artwork displayed in the Capitol, Metcalf will receive two airline tickets to Washington, D.C. to view her work.

Braley also announced three runners up in this year’s competition: Alyx Brimacomb from Cedar Falls High School, Abigail Oelrich from North Fayette High School, and Louise Castro De Jesus from Osage Community High School.

Any high school student from Iowa’s First Congressional District was eligible to submit their artwork for consideration.  To enter, students submitted a digital image of their artwork via Braley’s website.  The submissions were compiled into an internet gallery for public voting. This year, 23 pieces of art were submitted as part of the competition.

To view all the pieces of art submitted in this year’s competition, visit:


2014 Congressional Art Competition Winners:

Click on the titles below the school names to view the artwork.

1st Place

Isabella Metcalf

Hempstead High School, Dubuque

Frac Mining


Runners up

Alyx Brimacomb

Cedar Falls High School, Cedar Falls



Louise Castro De Jesus

Osage Community High School, Osage

The Foreign Jungle


Abigail Oelrich

North Fayette High School, North Fayette

House in the Woods



List of Past Iowa First District Art Competition Winners:


2007    Jonathan Welser, Davenport

2008    Stephanie Tarnish, Davenport

2009    Mitch Doll, Davenport

2010    Emily Schroeder, Cedar Falls

2011    Krista Stork, Dubuque

2012    Kelsey Feldman, West Union

2013    Skylar Papakee, Meskwaki Settlement