Public Safety Committee Grows

The Winnebago County Public Safety Committee welcomed two new members to help get the project approved by voters when it comes up for approval by county residents in the next election.

Sue Urbatsch and Dariss Peterson joined the committee which also features Terry Durby of the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors. Urbatsch is the city clerk for Leland and Peterson is from Scarville.

The two will join more appointees by the Winnebago County Board who are already functioning as committee members. They are Joe Jamtgaard,Bob Schreiner, and Bill Clark. All three hail from Lake Mills.

The hope by the Board is to add some spark to the project which is to house the Winnebago County Sheriffs Office and jail facility. The building is needed for a variety of reasons including replacing a rapidly deteriorating Winnebago County Jail.