The 2014 Crop Advantage Series Meetings are Scheduled

Registration is now open for the 2014 Crop Advantage Series meeting. Sponsored by Iowa StateUniversity Extension, the meetings will be held at 13 locations across Iowa in January. Each location focuses on local crop production issues, delivering Iowa State University research to farmers across Iowa. Extension weed specialists Mike Owen and Bob Hartzler will discuss management options when dealing with herbicide resistance as the keynote topic for the 2014 series.In addition, each location features a full agenda of workshops that attendees can choose from, developing a personalized meeting agenda. Program topics that focus on local needs and production issues are selected by the ISU Extension field agronomists for each meeting.

The Crop Advantage Series provides a statewide message on important issues yet retains local input on topics for that specific area. Crop and pest management issues are different for each area of says Brent Pringnitz, program coordinator with ISU Agriculture and Natural Resources Extension. Each of the meetings is approved for Certified Crop Adviser continuing education credits. Each location also offers the opportunity for private pesticide applicators to receive continuing education credits.
Early registration for each location is $35 and includes workshop materials, lunch, and refreshments. Registration less than one week prior or at the meeting increases to $45. An additional fee is charged for CCA credits and private pesticide applicator recertification. Additional program details,registration forms and online registration is available at or from local ISU Extension offices. The Region 3 session will be held at NIACC in Mason City starting at 8:30 am on January 9,2014. The full Iowa schedule is listed below.

Crop Advantage meeting schedule for 2014:
 January 6 – Sheldon
 January 8 – Okoboji
 January 9 – Mason City
 January 10 – Burlington
 January 14 – Ames
 January 15 – Storm Lake
 January 16 – Honey Creek
 January 21 – Atlantic
 January 22 – Fort Dodge
 January 23 – Waterloo
 January 28 – LeMars
 January 29 – Iowa City
 January 30 – Carroll